Simpson Library Technical Services

The Withdrawal Process for Items to Surplus

Once an item is to be removed from the collection, follow these steps in order to move items to the Withdrawn location and to complete all the processing necessary on withdrawn items.

Divide the withdrawals between Gov Docs and the rest of the items to be withdrawn. Always process Gov Docs as a separate batch when withdrawing them. Withdrawing Gov Docs from the cart must be discussed with Phyllis Johnson beforehand to make sure no items need to be processed or discarded differently than the rest. Ask her to look at the cart you have and let you know if there is anything specific that must be done with any items.

Moving Items to Withdrawn Set

1. Open the application “LazyLists 2.1”. This can be found in the folder named “LazyLists” on the desktop of the Technical Services Assistant Computer.
2. Once in “LazyLists” begin scanning in the items that are to be withdrawn. Keep note that the green text should say “Sent to set” after each barcode is scanned. Also, keep count of how many items you scan.
3. After every item is scanned, exit “LazyLists” and log into Alma.
4. Go to the Admin menu at the top of the screen and click Manage Sets.
5. Click on the tab for Public Sets and find the set titled “Items to be Withdrawn”. At the right side of the row is a button with three circles on it. Click on that and select Members.
6. All of the items you scanned in should show up on the screen. Quickly check to make sure the number of items you scanned matches what is on your screen. If everything checks out, click on the button and then click Excel to export the list into a Microsoft Excel spreadsheet. Rename the spreadsheet so it is titled “Surplus xx-xx-xx” with today’s date and email it to your supervisor.
7. After sending the spreadsheet, go to the Admin menu at the top of the screen and click Run a Job. Find the job titled “Change physical items”, click the circle to the left of the name to select the job, and then click Next in the top right corner. Find the “Items to be Withdrawn” set, click the circle to the left of the name to select it, and then click Next again. Click the first box on the left side to select the “Change Type – Permanent” field. Scroll down to the bottom where you will see the box for “Statistics note 3”. Select the box on the left side to select the field and then type “Item withdrawn” in the text box to the right. Scroll back up and click Next. Then click Submit to run the job. *The text in “Statistics note 3” should say “Gov Doc withdrawn” when handling Government Documents.*
8. You will receive an email to your UMW email account within a minute for the job. Make sure there are no error messages in the report. If there are any, discuss them with a supervisor.
9. After you receive the report, go back to Alma to the Run a Job page. Find the job titled “Withdraw items” (should be on page 3 of the list), click the circle in the second column to select the job, and then click Next. Find the “Items to be Withdrawn” set, click the circle to the left of the name to select it, and then click Next again. Click the box next to the selection “Delete holdings; delete bibliographic records that have no other holdings” and then click Next. Then click Submit to run the job.
10. You will receive another email to your UMW email account within a minute for the job. Make sure there are no error messages in the report. If there are any, discuss them with your supervisor.

Remove withdrawn items from OCLC 

1. In Alma Analytics navigate to the Catalog and proceed to the   /Shared Folders/University of Mary Washington/Reports/Technical Services folder and open the OCLC to be Removed report. 
2. Move to the Criteria tab to update the date range filter in order to display the most recent items deleted. Use the end date of the last item modification date filter date is the start date for the criteria and today's date for the end. 
   Note: Alma Analytics data is a day delayed from Alma. If you deleted items today you should not expect to see those items in the results until the next day. 
3. Back in the Results tab select the Export button and choose Data > CSV Format. This should open up an excel spreadsheet.

You'll need to isolate and clean up the network numbers so you have only the base OCLC number. In order to do that you can try the following: 

1. Copy the Network Number column in to a new sheet.  
2. Delete any empty rows (this is a page that describes a quick way to delete all empty rows). 
3. Go to the Data tab and select Text to Columns. 
4. Choose Delimited then Next 
5. For Delimiters it will be depend on the results but usually some combination of the following will get the OCLC numbers in one column: 
   Semicolon 
   Space 
   Other: m 
6. You should be able to see the preview of the data. Select finish. 
7. Once the OCLC numbers have been separated in a column copy the column in to a empty notepad document and save the file as a .txt. 
8. Next you'll open up Connexion and log-on.  
9. Go to Batch > Holdings by OCLC Number. 
10. Select Delete Holdings and import the text file you created and select OK.  
11. After the report has run check for errors in the report and manually delete records as necessary. 

Discarding Withdrawn Items

Submit Surplus Relocation Request 

1. Fill out the Surplus Relocation Form. 
2. As part of surplussing library collection materials we send a list of items to the central storeroom  
3. Currently lists are created each time a cart is withdrawn. These lists are uploaded to the Surplus List folder in the Technical Services sharepoint. These lists will then need to be compiled in to one spreadsheet. All that is needed is Title and Creator/Author field.  
4. After filling out form e-mail Storeroom Manager (David Wilt, dwilt@umw.edu) with a spreadsheet of all the items.  

The Withdrawal Process for removing discontinued serial publications.

Use this process only when the subscription has been cancelled.  To remove only some issues, follow the procedure for Removing Serials or Moving Serials from Periodicals to Stacks.

Moving Items to Withdrawn Set

1. Locate the bibliographic record for the title that contains items to withdrawal.
2. Make a note of the OCLC number for later.
3. Click on the link (usually Physical (x)) next to the green dot.
4. Select holdings.
5. Find the holdings record that contains the items you want to remove.  Usually this will be Periodicals and/or Usage Statistics. Do not remove items or holdings from permanently retained items in the Stacks or Microform unless you are specifically told to do so.  Make a note of the PO Line number for later.
6. Click the three dots menu next to the holdings record you need and select view items.
7. Select the checkbox at the top that will select all the items to be discarded.
8. Click Manage Selected > Withdraw Items.
9. Confirm.
10. If there are additional holdings records with items to delete, select Delete the Holdings Record.  If this is the only holdings record left attached to the bibliographic record, choose Delete Bibliographic Record (unless other holdings are present).
11. Select Go.
12. Repeat the process for all items and holdings to be removed.
13. If there are pages and pages of items to remove, you can also create a set of those items and withdrawal them all using the Withdraw Physical Items Job.

Remove withdrawn items from OCLC 

1. Go to OCLC Connexion and search for the OCLC record that you previously withdrew.
2. Delete the holdings

Close the PO Line

1. Search the Alma repository for the PO Line by changing the dropdown search parameter to Order Lines.
2. Check to see that the PO Line has been closed.

Discarding Withdrawn Items

Toss the removed periodicals in the recycle bin.