Simpson Library Technical Services

3xx fields are used for information about physical characteristics and arrangement, publication frequency, graphic representation, and security information.
 

Physical Description (300)

Books:
Indicators 1 & 2 are blank.
$$a is used for number of pages and/or number of volumes
$$b is used for other physical details
$$c is used for dimensions (measure in cm to the nearest whole number).

Examples:

300_ _$$a xvii, 238 pages : $$b illustrations ; $$c 23 cm.
300_ _$$a xxiv, 476 pages, 6 unnumbered leaves of plates : $$b illustrations (chiefly color) ; $$c 23 cm.
300_ _ $$a 26 unnumbered pages : $$b color illustrations ; $$c 26 cm
300_ _ $$a 578 pages ; $$c 27 cm
 

506 - Restrictions on Access

• Use to record restrictions on individual items that are not handled by loan rules. 

• Enter in the bibliographic record with MARC tag 506. 

Examples: 

506 1_  $$a Circulates to UMW Libraries Students, Faculty and Staff only. 
506 1_  $$a Circulates to UMW Libraries Staff only. 

 

536 - Funding Information Note (R)

• Use to record contract, grant and project numbers when materials are provided through outside funding.
• Enter in the bibliographic record with MARC tag 536.
• Use:
  $a for Text of Note - Information concerning the sponsors or funding organization.
  $b for Contract Number
  $c for Grant Number

Examples:

536 __  $$a This item was provided by a grant from the The Japan Foundation.
536 __  $$a Sponsored by the Advanced Research Projects Agency through the Office of Naval Research $$b N00014-68-A-0245-0007 $$c Order No. 2616

540 - Terms Governing Use and Reproduction Note

• Use to record terms governing use and reproduction (copyright, performance rights, etc.) on individual items. 

• Enter in the bibliographic record with MARC tag 540. 

• Indicator 1 and 2 are undefined. 

• Use $$a for the text of a legal or official statement of restrictions. 

• Use $$5 to indicate the institution to which the field applies. 

Examples: 

Limited Educational Licenses 
540 __  $$a This video has limited educational performance rights and may be shown in a classroom or used in a library/research collection at UMW.  Public Performance rights are not included otherwise; may not be exhibited publicly outside a classroom, commercially or theatrically. 

Public Performance Licenses 
540 __  $$a This video includes public performance rights in perpetuity. $$5 VMW 

Creative Commons Licenses 

540 __  $$a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License $$f CC BY-SA 4.0 $$2 cc $$u https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0 

540 __  $$a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License $$f CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 $$2 cc $$u https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/4.0/ 

540 __  $$a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License $$f CC BY 4.0 $$2 cc $$u https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/ 

EXAMPLE LICENSE 
540 __  $$a Example here. 

  

541 - Source of Acquisition

• Use to record the source of acquisition only if there is no purchase order record and/or it is desirable to display the information to the public.
• Source notes are made when it is not desirable to trace the source of acquisition in an added entry.
• Source notes may be used to record purchase information when there is no order record associated with the item.
• Enter in the bibliographic record with MARC tag 541 first indicator 1 (public) or 0 (private).  Most source notes will be public.
• Use:
  $a for Source of acquisition (NR) Use this format:: [surname], [forename]
  $c for Method of acquisition (NR) [Gift, Bequest, etc.]
  $d for Date of acquisition (NR)
  $3 for Materials Specified
• Preface note with copy number if the library owns multiple copies with the same call number.
• Do not use for archival records: Use MARC tag 561 in conjunction with MARC tag 524.

Examples:

541 1_  $$c Gift; $$a Hill, Mike; $$d 2016.
541 1_  $$3 Vol. 5; $$c Gift; $$a Bales, Richard; $$d 2017.
541 1_ $$c Gift; $$a DAAD - German Academic Exchange Service; $$d 2018.

561 - Provenance (use with archival collections)

• Use to record ownership and/or custodial history.
• Provenance notes are made when it is also desirable to trace the donor/former owner/collection in an added entry.
• Enter in the bibliographic record with MARC tag 561.
• Enter information in a single field. Do not use separate subfields for each indication of ownership. For collections with finding aids, this provenance statement here should match or closely follow that in the finding aid.
• If it is unclear whether materials were a gift or a purchase, use the phrase "Acquired from."
• Can be used in conjunction with MARC tag 524.
• Preface note with copy number if the library owns multiple copies with the same call number.
• For University Presidents, use names and dates as follows:
  Edward H. Russell (1908 -1919)
  Algernon B. Chandler, Jr. (1919-1928)
  Morgan L. Combs (1929-1955)
  Grellet C. Simpson (1956-1974)
  Prince B. Woodard (1974-1982)
  William M. Anderson, Jr. (1983-2006)
  William J. Frawley (2006–2007)
  Judy G. Hample (2008-2010)
  Richard V. Hurley (2010-2016)
  Troy D. Paino (2016-

Examples of archival records:

561 1_ $$a Gift of Thomas A. Woolrich.
561 1_ $$a Gift of an anonymous donor in 1987.
561 1_ $$a Acquired by exchange, 1996.
561 1_ $$a Acquired from John Q. Allen, 1945.
561 1_$$a Gift of Mrs. Kurt F. Leidecker.

561 1_  $$a Records of Grellet C. Simpson as President of Mary Washington College (1956-1974). Special Collections, University of Mary Washington Simpson Library.
561 1_ $$a Transferred from the office of President Richard V. Hurley (2010-2016).
561 1_ $$a Gift of Grellet C. Simpson as President of Mary Washington College (1956-1974), 1978. Formerly held in Trinkle Library and Simpson Library before transfer to Special Collections, University of Mary Washington Simpson Library in 2016.
561 1_$$a Part of the Dr. Dice R. Anderson Collection.

586 - Awards Note (R)

• Use to record information on awards associated with an item.  Field is repeatable for each occurrence of an award.

586 __ $$a Caldecott Medal, 1981.
586 __ $$a National Book Award, 1987.
586 __ $$a Pulitzer Prize for Nonfiction, 1996.

590 - Local Information (R)

• Enter in the bibliographic record with MARC tag 590 first indicator 1 (public) or 0 (private).
• Use for notable signatures/presentation inscriptions.
• Use for clippings and other items inserted after publication.
• Preface the note with the owning library name if multiple libraries own copies.
• Add copy number if the library owns multiple copies with the same call number.

590 1_ $$a Simpson Library copy 1: signed by author. [signature only]
590 1_ $$a Library’s copy inscribed by the author. [text plus signature]
590 1_ $$a Stafford Library copy 2: Specification sheet tipped in.
590 1_ $$a Simpson Library keeps latest edition only.
590 1_ $$a Simpson Library keeps earlier editions bound in the stacks.
590 1_ $$a Simpson Library keeps earlier editions loose in the stacks.
590 1_ $$a Stafford Library keeps one earlier edition.
590 1_ $$a Library's copy inscribed by Grellet C. Simpson as President of Mary Washington College (1956-1974), 1978.

Faculty and Staff Publications Processing

(Use local authority names if applicable.)

• Enter in the bibliographic record with MARC tag 590 first indicator 1 (public).
• Enter in the bibliographic record with MARC tag 700 first indicator 0,1 or 3, second indicator # or 2.
• Use for any publication authored by MWC or UMW faculty, staff and administration.  

590 1_ $$a v.7, no.4 (July 2000) includes: "A brief history of the Vikings" by Eric S. Northman.
700 12 $$a Northman, Eric S. $$t A brief history of the Vikings.

600 Subject Added Entry - Personal Name (R)

If the heading is in the authority files, use the fields below.

• 600 Subject Added Entry–Personal Name (R)
• 610 Subject Added Entry–Corporate Name (R)
• 611 Subject Added Entry–Meeting Name (R)
• 630 Subject Added Entry–Uniform Title (R)
• 648 Subject Added Entry–Chronological Term (R)
• 650 Subject Added Entry–Topical Term (R)
• 651 Subject Added Entry-Geographic Name (R)

Examples:

600 14 $$a Farmer, James, $$d 1920-1999 $$x Library.

 

Local Subject Added Entry - Personal Name (R)

If the heading is nonstandard and has meaning only for your institution, use the fields below, which are not retained in master records:

• 690 Local Subject Added Entry–Topical Term (R)
• 691 Local Subject Added Entry–Geographic Name (R)
• 696 Local Subject Added Entry–Personal Name (R)
• 697 Local Subject Added Entry–Corporate Name (R)
• 698 Local Subject Added Entry–Meeting Name (R)
• 699 Local Subject Added Entry–Uniform Title (R)

Indicators

Field	1st	2nd
690	1 or 2	7
691	undefined	7
696	1	7
697	2	7
698	2	7
699	0 or 1-9 (non-filing characters)	7

We use 7 as the second indicator for all local headings in conjunction with $$2.

Examples:

696 17 $$a Simpson, Grellet Collins, $$d 1909-1997 $$2 vmw
696 17 $$a Sutton, Margaret, $$d 1905-1990 $$2 vmw

 

697 27 $$a University of Mary Washington Galleries $$e publisher $$2 vmw

Author Added Entry - Personal Name (R)

700 1_ $$a Pano, Troy D. $$c President of the University of Mary Washington (2016- $$n v. 7 $$t The 1960s

Local Fields

• Use to record information on individual records that are loaded via import .
• Enter in the bibliographic record with MARC tags 9XX.

Examples:

906 - Shipping List No. from GPO Marcive loads. 

906 __  $$a 2013-0095-M