Simpson Library: Magazines: Magazines in UMW databases

Caution

Please note: magazines and advertisements are not scholarly sources. They can be used as primary sources for studying history and culture.

If you are looking for scholarly sources, please use the library's other online guides, or contact a librarian at 540-654-1148 or refdesk@umw.edu.

Best bets

Of the more than 200 databases that UMW subscribes to, these are the best for finding magazine articles. Note the dates that each database covers.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Dates covered: 1684 - 1912
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
Dates covered: 1741 - 1940
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega Edition This link opens in a new window
Dates covered: 1983 - present

Other places to look

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database includes both magazines and journals. You can limit your search results to magazines by checking the "Magazines" box on the left side of the search results page.
Dates Covered: 1887 - present
Accessible Archives / History Commons This link opens in a new window
A collection of historical American documents. Includes some magazines, such as Frank Leslie's Weekly and Godey's Lady's Book.
Dates covered: 1728 - 1902
HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I and II This link opens in a new window
Harper's Weekly was a popular magazine in 19th-century America.
Dates covered: 1857 - 1877
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
This database includes both magazines and journals. You can limit your search results to magazines by checking the "Magazines" box on the left side of the search results page.
Dates covered: 1865 - present