Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
The Library of Congress is making available online the written history of the American Congress in digitized, searchable form. "This first release of the collection offers the records of the first two federal congresses, 1789-1793. It includes the Journal of the House of Representatives (1789-1793) and the Senate (1789-1793), including the Senate Executive Journal (1789-1805); the debates of Congress as published in the Annals of Congress (1789-1838); and the Journal of William Maclay (1789-1791), Senator from Pennsylvania in the first Congress."
Mission is to connect people to government in a bipartisan way. Information includes: current photograph, room, phone and fax numbers, key staff, committee assignments, district office addresses and much more; including CQ, Roll Call, Oxford Analytica, and VoterVoice.
Legislative Source Book
Developed by the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D. C. and includes informational documents and links of interest to legislative researchers.
Congress.gov: Home for Legislative Information
This site from the Library of Congress offers tools to gain comprehensive knowledge on the laws and legislators of the United States. In 2013, it replaced Thomas.gov. Ideal for teachers, students, and the public.
Congressional Timeline 1.0
This is a version of the Congressional Timeline that was archived in December 2020. The site is currently offline, but the Dirksen Center is working on an updated version of the Timeline.
(Dirksen Congressional Center):Beginning with the 73rd Congress, this timeline features session dates, partisan composition, the presidential administration, a list of congressional leaders, and notable legislation passed.
GLIN (The Global Legal Information Network)
Public database of official texts of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations in their original languages. Each document is accompanied by a summary in English, plus subject terms selected from the multilingual index to GLIN.
Provides free primary resources for legal research: case law, codes, regulations, statutes, and legal information - also blogs, alerts, opinion summaries, federal dockets - all searchable.
NHGRI Genome Statute and Statute Legislation Database
(National Human Genome Research Institute) : Enables researchers, health professionals and the general public to more easily locate information on laws and policies related to a wide array of genetic issues. This database contains Federal and State laws/statutes; Federal legislative materials; and Federal administrative and executive materials, including regulations, institutional policies, and executive orders. The database currently focuses on the following subject areas: privacy of genetic information/confidentiality; informed consent; insurance and employment discrimination; genetic testing and counseling; and commercialization and patenting.
General Legal Research Sites
Compiled by Law Librarians' Society of Washington, DC (LLSDC)
Free and Commercial sites
The Law Student Guide to Free Legal Research on the Internet
Created by Sarah Glassmeyer of Valparaiso University School of Law. The guide is written in a casual tone and is intended to be used by law students.