Today's Hours:
Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry by
Scientists, engineers, and technologists in many fields need a knowledge of chemistry because of the importance of chemistry in diverse technologies. In addition, to "classical" topics of chemistry, the new Encyclopedia covers nanotechnology, fuel cell technology, green chemistry, forensic chemistry, supramolecular chemistry, combinatorial chemistry, materials chemistry, and proteomics. This fifth print edition has been revised and updated, and includes over 200 new articles, as well as 1,300 updated articles.
Encyclopedia of Chromatography by
Thoroughly revised and expanded, the third edition of the Encyclopedia of Chromatography is an authoritative source of information for researchers in chemistry, biology, physics, engineering, and materials science. This quick reference and guide to specific chromatographic techniques and theory provides a basic introduction to the science and technology of the method, offering key references dealing with the methodology for analysis of specific chemicals and applications in industry. With a focus on emerging technologies and uses, the text contains tables and figures that cogently illustrate and clarify technical points in the articles. The Third Edition provides a valuable, reader-friendly reference for all those who employ chromatographic methods for analysis of complex mixtures of substances, as well as practitioners across the entire spectrum of science. What's New in the Third Edition: Bioanalysis: Silica- and Polymer-Based Monolithic Columns Bioluminescence: Detection in TLC Chemical Warfare Agent Degradation Products: HPLC/MS Analysis Chemical Warfare Agents: TLC Analysis Cyclodextrins in GC Cyclodextrins in HPLC Detection in Ion Chromatography Drug Development: LC/MS Flash Chromatography Food Analysis: Ion Chromatography Inorganic and Organic Cations: Ion Chromatographic Determination Inverse GC Multidimensional Separations Spiral Column Assembly for HSCCC Thin Layer Radiochromatography Topological Indices: TLC UV-Visible Detection Including Multiple Wavelengths ALSO AVAILABLE ONLINE This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for both researchers, students, and librarians, including: Citation tracking and alerts Active reference linking Saved searches and marked lists HTML and PDF format options For more information, visit Taylor and Francis Online. Or contact us to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367 / (E-mail) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062 / (E-mail) online.sales@tandf.co.uk
Encyclopedia of the Elements by
Famous for its history of numerous element discoverers, Sweden is the origin of this comprehensive encylopedia of the elements. It provides both an important database for professionals as well as detailed reading ranging from historical facts, discoverers' portraits, colour plates of mineral types, natural occurrences, and industrial figures to winning and refining processes, biological roles and applications in modern chemistry, engineering and industry. Elemental data is presented in fact tables which include numerous physical and thermodynamic properties, isotope lists, radiation absorption characteristics, NMR parameters, and others. Further pertinent data is supplied in additional tables throughout the text. Published in Swedish in three volumes from 1998 to 2000, the contents have been revised and expanded by the author for this English edition.
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology, Part 1 by
This completely new Third Edition of the Mark Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology brings the state-of-the-art to the 21st century, with coverage of nanotechnology, new imaging and analytical techniques, new methods of controlled polymer architecture, biomimetics, and more. Whereas earlier editions published one volume at a time, the third edition is being published in 3 Parts of 4 volumes each. Each of these 4-volume Parts is an A-Z selection of the latest in polymer science and technology as published in the updated online edition of the Mark Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology (available at www.mrw.interscience.wiley.com/epst). Order the 12 volume set (ISBN 0471275077) now for the best value and receive each of the 4 volume Parts as they publish. The complete list of titles to appear in Part 1 of this new third print edition can be viewed at www.mrw.interscience.wiley.com/epst and clicking on "What's New". Check this website often as new articles are added periodically.
A Reference book is just a starting point that provides an overview of a topic. Don't cite these materials. The reason why we don't cite reference books is that they don't provide any original information. They only give you a condensed summary of what other people have said about a topic. Use these materials to give you ideas for a topic. Write down the relevant facts and keywords so that you can search in Primo or in the library databases to locate books and articles for your research.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by
In a world with access to unlimited amounts of data, how can users who need to make critical scientific and technical decisions find high quality, reliable data? Today, more than ever, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physicsremains a hallmark of quality. For over 100 years, the Handbook has provided property data on chemical compounds and all physical particles that have been reported in the literature, carefully reviewed by subject experts. Every year older collections are updated with the latest values and new areas will be added as science progresses. All data are reviewed and evaluated by subject matter experts Chemical names and property units are standardized, and structures are provided for most substances Over 380 property tables included Contains important information on data-related subjects such as chemical and laboratory safety, and nomenclature
CRC Handbook of Basic Tables for Chemical Analysis by
Winner of an Oustanding Academic Title Award for 2011! Researchers in organic chemistry, chemical engineering, pharmaceutical science, forensics, and environmental science make routine use of chemical analysis, but the information these researchers need is often scattered in different sources and difficult to access. The CRC Handbook of Basic Tables for Chemical Analysis, Third Edition is a one-stop reference that presents updated data in a handy format specifically designed for use when reaching a decision point in designing an analysis or interpreting results. In response to a decade of reader input, this new edition has been expanded to include even more of the critical information scientists rely on to perform accurate analysis. Enhancements to the Third Edition: Includes data from the CRC Handbook of Fundamental Spectroscopic Correlation Charts into this volume for the first time Presents new information on gas, liquid, and thin layer chromatography; nuclear magnetic resonance spectrometry; infrared spectrophotometry; and mass spectrometry Reviews the detection of outliers in experimental data Provides basic information on thermocouples, chemical indicators, and chromatographic column regeneration Explores the latest stationary phases for chromatographic methods and extractions Examines carcinogens and chemical, electrical, radiation, and laser hazards Includes information on laboratory safety and equipment, from advice on choosing lab gloves and apparel to selecting respirators Unmatched in its coverage of the range of information scientists need in the lab, this resource will be referred to again and again by practitioners who need quick, easy access to the data that forms the basis for experimentation and analysis.
Organic Chemist's Desk Reference by
CHOICE Award Winner Since the first publication in 1995, the Organic Chemist¿s Desk Reference has been essential reading for laboratory chemists who need a concise guide to the essentials of organic chemistry ¿ the literature, nomenclature, stereochemistry, spectroscopy, hazard information, and laboratory data. The past fifteen years have witnessed immense growth in the field of chemistry and new discoveries have continued to shape its progress. In addition, the distinction between organic chemistry and other disciplines such as biochemistry and materials science has become increasingly blurred. Extensively revised and updated, this new edition contains the very latest data that chemists need access to for experimentation and research. New in the Second Edition: Rearranged content placed in a logical progressive order, making subjects easier to find Expanded topics from the glossary now presented as separate chapters Updated information on many classic subjects such as mass spectrometry and infrared, ultraviolet, and nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy New sections on chiral separations and crystallography Cross references to a plethora of web information Reflecting a 75% revision since the last edition, this volume is a must-have for organic chemists and those in related fields who need quick and easy access to vital information in the lab. It is also a valuable companion to the Dictionary of Organic Compounds, enabling readers to easily focus in on critical data.
A Dictionary of Chemistry by
A Dictionary of Chemistry is a popular and authoritative guide to all aspects of its discipline. With over 5,000 entries, its broad coverage includes physical chemistry and biochemistry, and is heavily informed by the most current research. For this eighth edition, the Dictionary has been fully revised, making it the most up-to-date reference work of its kind. Over 170 entirely new entries have been added, including bioethanol, genome, molecular spintronics, oganesson, phosphorylation, and reticular chemistry. Areas such as analytical chemistry, environmental chemistry, and organic chemistry have been expanded to reflect recent developments in the field. The dictionary's supplementary material has also been enhanced as new diagrams provide readers with useful visual aids, and the appendices have been substantially updated. All web links have been revised and updated, and are easily accessible via the companion website.
The Enzyme Reference by
The aim of this work is to provide a fuller spectrum of information in a single source on enzyme-catalyzed reactions than is currently available in any published reference work or as part of any Internet database. The Enzyme Reference: A Comprehensive Guidebook to Enzyme Nomenclature, Reactions, and Methods includes 20,000 review articles and seminal research papers. Additionally, it provides a novel treatment of so-called ATPase and GTPase reactions to account for the noncovalent substratelike and productlike states of molecular motors, elongation factors, transporters, DNA helicases, G-reulatory proteins, and other energases.
Insect Pharmacology by
The publication of the extensive 7-volume work Comprehensive Molecular Insect Science provided library customers and their end-users with a complete reference encompassing important developments and achievements in modern insect science, including reviews on the ecdysone receptor, lipocalins, and bacterial toxins. One of the most popular areas in entomology is pharmacology, and this derivative work, Insect Pharmacology, taps into a previously unapproached market - the end user who desires to purchase a comprehensive yet affordable work on important aspects of this topic. Contents will include timeless articles covering sodium channels, spider toxins and their potential for insect control, insect transformation for use in control, amino acid and neurotransmitter transporters, and more. New summaries for each chapter will give an overview of developments in the related article since its original publication.