Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A great way to start your research is by reading overviews and summaries of a potential topic. Reference books, like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks, provide this type of authoritative information in a very condensed format. Reference books will:
- include helpful introductory information
- contain citations to other sources
- list statistics, dates and facts
- provide reviews, biographies and definitions
Use these materials to give you ideas for a topic, write down relevant facts and keywords, and then search Quest or the library databases to locate additional books and articles.
Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes by
The changes in this timely new edition are many. This third edition now includes not only new events but also as many examples of historical earthquakes as possible for contrast or comparison. Its significantly expanded coverage in the Middle East reflects the world's focus in recent years. And because many of these disasters involve destruction by landslides and avalanches, there are now 200 new entries related to such events and processes, including tsunami research and technology. Many tables were added to place the magnitude of these recent disasters into historical context. In addition to a special essay on plate tectonics, the book's entries cover information on key environmental issues, economic dilemmas, ethical concerns, advances in research and technology, organizations, and individuals who have left their mark on the fields of volcanology and seismology.
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
The Encyclopedia of Volcanoes by
Volcanoes are unquestionably one of the most spectacular and awe-inspiring features of the physical world. Our paradoxical fascination with them stems from their majestic beauty and powerful, sometimes deadly, destructiveness. Notwithstanding the tremendous advances in volcanology since ancient times, some of the mystery surrounding volcanic eruptions remains today. The Encyclopedia of Volcanoes summarizes our present knowledge of volcanoes; it provides a comprehensive source of information on the causes of volcanic eruptions and both the destructive and beneficial effects. The early chapters focus on the science of volcanism (melting of source rocks, ascent of magma, eruption processes, extraterrestrial volcanism, etc.). Later chapters discuss human interface with volcanoes, including the history of volcanology, geothermal energy resources, interaction with the oceans and atmosphere, health aspects of volcanism, mitigation of volcanic disasters, post-eruption ecology, and the impact of eruptions on organismal biodiversity.
Publication Date: 2015-05-15
Ring of Fire by
The author examines natural disasters around the Pacific Rim throughout history together with scientific data context to produce enlightening--and highly readable--entries. On March 11, 2011, a magnitude 9.0 earthquake struck off Japan's coast, triggering a powerful tsunami. The massive destruction that resulted proved that not even sophisticated, industrialized nations are immune from nature's fury. Written to take some of the mystery out of the earth's behavior, this encyclopedia chronicles major natural disasters that have occurred around the Pacific Rim, an area nicknamed the "Ring of Fire" because of the volatile earth that lies above and below. The encyclopedia offers descriptions of deadly earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, and tsunamis through time. The entries provide in-depth information that promotes an understanding of the structure of the earth and earth processes and shares the insights of scientists whose work helps clarify the causes and effects of these cataclysmic events. At the same time, the work examines how the people and cultures of the Pacific Rim view this active part of the earth, how they live with the threat of disaster, and how they have been affected by major events that have occurred. Readers will come away with a holistic view of what is known, how this knowledge was gained, and what its implications may be. Features approximately 100 alphabetically arranged entries with insights into specific disasters, technology, key geographic features of the area, significant people, cultural beliefs, and more Includes a general introduction and overview of the geography and tectonic activity in the Pacific Rim countries Offers both historical and scientific information Explains complex natural phenomena and scientific concepts using nontechnical language and clear illustrations Provides relevant cross-references to related topics as well as to articles, books, and websites that offer further information
Call Number: REF QE537.5 .R56 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Disasters by
Provides an accessible introduction to the most important disasters - both natural and human caused - throughout human history
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Notable Natural Disasters by
Overview essays on disaster types explain the disaster in scientific terms and discuss the science behind the phenomenon. the overviews are followed by entries on the 100 worst disasters in history. these narrative -style essays offer facts, figures, and interesting stories. Each event entry begins with a general description of location or the popular designation for the disaster, plus the most accurate date for the event. Magnitude on the Richter scale, either official or estimated, is given for earthquakes.
Call Number: Reference GB5014 .N373 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Hugh Johnson's Modern Encyclopedia of Wine by
A fully revised and expanded edition of the bestselling classic--the most reliable, comprehensive reference book on wine ever written. A magnificent 480-page directory of over 40,000 of the world's wines, chateaux, grapes, and regions, includes details about wine makers and vintages. 16 pages of four-color and 200 two-color maps and drawings.
Call Number: REF TP548 .J632 1998x
Publication Date: 1998-02-25
Concise Encyclopedia of Science and Technology of Wine by
When asking the question what is wine? there are various ways to answer. Wine is extolled as a food, a social lubricant, an antimicrobial and antioxidant, and a product of immense economic significance. But there is more to it than that. When did humans first start producing wine and what are its different varieties? Are wines nutritious or have any therapeutic values--do they have any role in health or are they simply intoxicating beverages? How are their qualities determined or marketed and how are these associated with tourism? Concise Encyclopedia of Science and Technology of Wine attempts to answer all these questions and more. This book reveals state-of-the-art technology of winemaking, describing various wine regions of the world and different cultivars used in winemaking. It examines microbiology, biochemistry, and engineering in the context of wine production. The sensory qualities of wine and brandy are explored, and the composition, nutritive and therapeutic values, and toxicity are summarized. Selected references at the end of each chapter provide ample opportunity for additional study. Key Features: Elaborates on the recent trends of control and modeling of wine and the techniques used in the production of different wines and brandies Focuses on the application of biotechnology, especially genetic engineering of yeast, bioreactor technological concepts, enzymology, microbiology, killer yeast, stuck and sluggish fermentation, etc. Illustrates the biochemical basis of wine production including malolactic fermentation Examines marketing, tourism, and the present status of the wine industry Concise Encyclopedia of Science and Technology of Wine contains the most comprehensive, yet still succinct, collection of information on the science and technology of winemaking. With 45 chapters contributed by leading experts in their fields, it is an indispensable treatise offering extensive details of the processes of winemaking. The book is an incomparable resource for oenologists, food scientists, biotechnologists, postharvest technologists, biochemists, fermentation technologists, nutritionists, chemical engineers, microbiologists, toxicologists, organic chemists, and the undergraduate and postgraduate students of these disciplines.
Publication Date: 2021-07-21
Earth and Water
Water Encyclopedia, Set by
The Water Encyclopedia offers a comprehensive depository of all information relating to the scientific and technological aspects of the world's most important natural resource -- water. The role of water in science, engineering and society requires a one-stop location to find whatever information is available on the cutting edge of the 21st century. This book is a resource for useful public domain data. Its focus is expert narrative on all water-related subjects.
Call Number: REF TD345 .L393 2005
Publication Date: 2005-06-13
Our Earth's Changing Land by
Call Number: REF GF90 .O87 2006
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Caves and Karst Science by
The Encyclopedia of Caves and Karst Science contains 350 alphabetically arranged entries. The topics include cave and karst geoscience, cave archaeology and human use of caves, art in caves, hydrology and groundwater, cave and karst history, and conservation and management. The Encyclopedia isnbsp;extensively illustrated with photographs, maps, diagrams, and tables, and has thematic content lists and a comprehensive index to facilitate searching and browsing. nbsp;
Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Urban Studies by
The United Nations estimates that by 2030, more than two-thirds of the total world population will live in urban areas. Most of this increase will take place not in Europe or in the United States but in the megacities and newly emerging urban regions of what used to be called the developing world. Urban studies is an expansive and growing field, covering many disciplines and professional fields, each with its own schedule of conferences, journals, and publication series. These two volumes address the specific theories, key studies, and important figures that have influenced not just the individual discipline but also the field of urban studies more generally. The Encyclopedia of Urban Studies is intended to present an overview of current work in the field and to serve as a guide for further reading in the field. Key Features Includes important work and traditions from each of the urban disciplines, including urban anthropology, urban economics, urban geography, urban history, urban politics, urban psychology, and urban sociology Addresses both the growth and expansion of urban areas (urbanization) and the nature and quality of urban life (urbanism) Demonstrates the international and interdisciplinary nature of the field with contributions from scholars in many different countries Confronts a number of important issues, ranging from individual problems of poverty to societal problems of provision of adequate housing and social exclusion Provides entries on a number of cities, including those in different historical periods and regions of the world and those that have been important in the development of urban studies Key Themes Disciplinary Approaches in Urban Studies Urban Studies-Topical Areas Urban Issues Urban Planning Urban Theory Urban Transportation Urban C
Call Number: REF HT108.5 .E634 2010
Publication Date: 2009-11-13
Food: History and Culture
Encyclopedia of Organic, Sustainable, and Local Food by
A comprehensive compilation of entries illuminates the key trends, activities, and themes in organic, sustainable, and local food, covering consumers, organizations, farming, policies, and much more.
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics
This Encyclopedia offers a definitive source on issues pertaining to the full range of topics in the important new area of food and agricultural ethics. It includes summaries of historical approaches, current scholarship, social movements, and new trends from the standpoint of the ethical notions that have shaped them. It combines detailed analyses of specific topics such as the role of antibiotics in animal production, the Green Revolution, and alternative methods of organic farming, with longer entries that summarize general areas of scholarship and explore ways that they are related. Renewed debate, discussion and inquiry into food and agricultural topics have become a hallmark of the turn toward more sustainable policies and lifestyles in the 21st century. Attention has turned to the goals and ethical rationale behind production, distribution and consumption of food, as well as to non-food uses of cultivated biomass and the products of animal husbandry. These wide-ranging debates encompass questions in human nutrition, animal rights and the environmental impacts of aquaculture and agricultural production. Each of these and related topics is both technically complex and involves an - often implicit - ethical dimension. Other topics include methods for integrating ethics into scientific and technical research programs or development projects, the role of intensive agriculture and biotechnology in addressing persistent world hunger and the role of crops, forests and engineered organisms in making a transition to renewable, carbon-neutral sources of energy. The Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics proves an indispensible reference point for future research and writing on topics in agriculture and food ethics for decades to come.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
The New Oxford Book of Food Plants by
The Oxford Book of Food Plants is a beautifully illustrated compendium of facts about the plants we grow in our gardens and use in our cooking. Gorgeous botanical illustrations are accompanied by accessible yet authoritative descriptions of each plant, along with fascinating historicaldetails and nutritive values.This is a new edition of a classic book -- fully updated with the latest nutritional research, as well as beautiful new plates and descriptions of many exotic edible plants that have only recently found their way into our markets and onto our kitchen tables -- it is a must-have for anyone who lovesgood food, cooking, and gardening.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia - Europe by
This comprehensive reference work introduces food culture from more than 150 countries and cultures around the world--including some from remote and unexpected peoples and places. * Entries covering over 150 countries and cultures from around the world * More than 100 expert contributors * Vignettes * An index that facilitates cross-cultural comparison
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
The Cambridge World History of Food by
This two-volume set is an excellent starting point for your research project! The set contains articles on particular crops, e.g. “Tomatoes” or “Coconuts.” Each article describes the history of a crop from its domestication to the present day. Some articles include numerical data about agriculture or nutrition. All articles have lengthy bibliographies.
Call Number: REF TX353 .C255 2000
Publication Date: 1999
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
A three-volume set, similar to the The Cambridge World History of Food, but with a greater focus on society and culture. In addition to articles about particular crops, this book also includes articles such as “Barbeque,” “Comfort Food,” “Food Archaeology,” “Greenhouse Horticulture,” “Marketing of Food,” “Organic Food,” and “Salad.”
Call Number: REF GT 2850 .E53 2003
Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures by
Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures comprises an extensive overhaul of the original ""Encyclopedia of the World's Nations"". It provides concise and objective descriptions of the dominant political, economic, social, and cultural systems of the countries of the world. The encyclopedia features 193 country-by-country surveys in 40 separate categories, as well as tables, charts, and lists that are linked with narrative accounts of each nation's peoples, history, government, society, and culture. This edition includes articles on three additional countries and 14 new sections on culture and society with each entry. Both the text and the extensive statistical data have been fully updated. New coverage includes: East Timor; Marshall Islands; and The Federated States of Micronesia. New sections in each entry include: Culture; Entertainment and recreation; Etiquette; Family life; Flora and fauna; Folklore and mythology; Food; Health; A list of modern rulers; Living conditions; Personal appearance; Science and technology; Sports; and Work.
Call Number: REF G63 .K874 2007
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Encyclopedia of World Geography by
World geography is an important topic for everyone. It can be used to study the past but is also crucial to understanding the events and current political conditions of the modern world. ""Encyclopedia of World Geography"" is an authoritative three-volume set profiling everything from the Fulda Gap to the Hudson River. Approximately 750 entries describe pioneers in geography and mapmaking; regions, boundaries, and places; and tools and terminology of geography and cartography. This accessible resource includes appendixes, such as world rankings and a complete world atlas, and almost 200 maps and photographs. Some 100 scholars and experts in the field contributed entries to the text, and a senior academic served as editor. An invaluable reference, ""Encyclopedia of World Geography"" is a complete and comprehensive guide to the history and practice of geography and cartography.
Call Number: REF G63 .E556 2005
Publication Date: 2005-09-01