Today's Hours:
Invasive Alien Species by
This 4-volume work is the first to compile a set of useful material for key topics, to provide a better understanding of the overall global threat of invasive alien species and the diverse array of problems faced around the world, and assemble material that includes potential replicable solutions to overcome these threats. The books also highlight the threat posed by invasive alien species in terms of a global 'call to action'.
Encyclopedia of the U.S. Government and the Environment by
A timely, new resource on the history of the U.S. government's approach to environmental policy. * 200 alphabetically organized entries on all aspects of the development of U.S. environmental policy--the events, issues, people, and politics * 100 expert contributors--scholars from a wide range of disciplines--draw on the latest research * A timeline of major laws, events, and governmental agencies related to environmental policy * A bibliography of important books and essays on U.S. government environmental policy in print and on online
Chronology of Americans and the Environment by
Covering the 17th century to the contemporary era, this chronological overview of the role of the environment provides many insights into one of the most important aspects of American history. Environmental issues such as deforestation, water pollution, extinction of indigenous animal species, and climate change have long existed in the United States. Fortunately, the American people and their government have demonstrated a willingness to address environmental concerns. Chronology of Americans and the Environment encompasses more than four centuries of dynamic and transformational environmental change that illustrate the central importance of the environment, natural resources, and "nature" throughout American history. The author provides a chronological overview of the significant events, major figures, and public policy developments throughout the history of our relationship with the environment, illustrating the sequence of historical events, cultural ideas, and trends that have led Americans to take action to protect the environment and public health. This book also touches upon prehistoric occurrences and events prior to the arrival of European explorers that provide context for Native American ideas and attitudes toward nature. Primary source accounts give a fascinating window into the ideas and experiences of those who have been instrumental in or witness to key events in U.S. environmental history Provides a chronology of events, key figures, ideas, and political developments that define Americans' relationship with the environment Includes various photographs and illustrations to accompany topics in the text A bibliography containing general titles, monographs, and websites provides sources for further research
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History by
While the relationship between man and nature has been a constant feature of the human situation, the human impact on the environment has only recently become a topic of general interest to students, as well as to scholars and professionals in disciplines across the board. This three-volume set, written by a team of international experts, provides not only broad historical coverage on how human beliefs and actions have altered the natural world, but also covers the latest developments in the field. An analysis of natural phenomena and events and their impact on human societies is also included. For a full list of entries, contributors, and more, visit the Encyclopedia of World Environmental History website. Also includes 20 maps.
American Environmental Leaders by
A comprehensive and diverse, award-winning collection of biographies of the most important figures in American environmentalism. As our environment changes, and environmental concerns become more and more prevalent, this encyclopedia provides much-needed information on the key players in the environmental movement.
A great way to start your research is by reading overviews and summaries of a potential topic. Reference books, like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks, provide this type of authoritative information in a very condensed format. Reference books will:
Use these materials to give you ideas for a topic, write down relevant facts and keywords, and then search Primo or the library databases to locate books and articles.
The Atlas of Coasts and Oceans by
Oceans drive the world's climate, nurture marine ecosystems full of aquatic life, and provide shipping lanes that have defined the global economy for centuries. And few realize that half of the world's population lives in a coastal region within easy reach of one. Yet human activities such as commercial fishing, coastal real estate development, and industrial pollution have taken their toll on the seas. The first book of its kind, The Atlas of Coasts and Oceans documents the fraught relationship between humans and the earth's largest bodies of water--and outlines the conservation steps needed to protect the marine environment for generations to come. The Atlas offers a fascinating and often sobering account of how urbanization, climate change, offshore oil drilling, shipping routes, global tourism, and maritime conflict have had a profound impact on the world's oceans and coasts. Combining text and images in visually engaging, thematically organized map spreads, this volume addresses the ecological, environmental, and economic importance of marine phenomena such as coral reefs, eroding shorelines, hurricanes, and fish populations--and how development threatens to destroy the ultimate source of all life on the "blue planet." Lavishly illustrated with global and regional maps, from the Arabian Gulf to the Great Barrier Reef, from the Black Sea to the Mediterranean, and all the other major global waterways, The Atlas of Coasts and Oceans will be the definitive companion to any study of its subject for years to come.
Encyclopedia of Coastal Science by
This new Encyclopedia of Coastal Science stands as the latest authoritative source in the field of coastal studies, making it the standard reference work for specialists and the interested lay person. Unique in its interdisciplinary approach. This Encyclopedia features contributions by 245 well-known international specialists in their respective fields and is abundantly illustrated with line-drawings and photographs. Not only does this volume offer an extensive number of entries, it also includes various appendices, an illustrated glossary of coastal morphology and extensive bibliographic listings.
Encyclopedia of Estuaries by
The Encyclopedia of Estuaries, part of Springer's Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences Series, provides a single, state-of-the-art, comprehensive reference volume on estuaries for research scientists, educators, students, and others. Consisting of almost 270 subject entries in an easy-to-use format, this volume covers the physical, chemical, and biological characteristics of estuaries. In total more than 225 authors from around the world have contributed to the encyclopedia on such diverse subjects as biotic communities, essential habitats, food webs, fisheries, hydrology, pollution, conservation, and many more. The Encyclopedia of Estuaries will meet the needs of professionals worldwide by supplying detailed information from world-class estuarine and marine scientists as well as experts from other fields of study.
Encyclopedia of Marine Geosciences by
This Encyclopedia comprises the current knowledge in marine geosciences whereby not only basic but also applied and technical sciences are covered. Through this concept a broad scale of users in the field of marine sciences and techniques is addressed, from students and scholars in academia to engineers and decision makers in industry and politics. Globally growing demand of energy and mineral resources, reliable future projection of climate processes and the protection of coasts to mitigate the threats of disasters and hazards require a comprehensive understanding of the structure, ongoing processes and genesis of the marine geosphere. Beyond the _classical_ research fields in marine geology in current time more general concepts have been evolved integrating marine geophysics, hydrography, marine biology, climatology and ecology. As an umbrella the term _marine geosciences_ has been broadly accepted for this new complex field of research and the solutions of practical tasks in the marine realm.
Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes by
The changes in this timely new edition are many. This third edition now includes not only new events but also as many examples of historical earthquakes as possible for contrast or comparison. Its significantly expanded coverage in the Middle East reflects the world's focus in recent years. And because many of these disasters involve destruction by landslides and avalanches, there are now 200 new entries related to such events and processes, including tsunami research and technology. Many tables were added to place the magnitude of these recent disasters into historical context. In addition to a special essay on plate tectonics, the book's entries cover information on key environmental issues, economic dilemmas, ethical concerns, advances in research and technology, organizations, and individuals who have left their mark on the fields of volcanology and seismology.
The Encyclopedia of Volcanoes by
Volcanoes are unquestionably one of the most spectacular and awe-inspiring features of the physical world. Our paradoxical fascination with them stems from their majestic beauty and powerful, sometimes deadly, destructiveness. Notwithstanding the tremendous advances in volcanology since ancient times, some of the mystery surrounding volcanic eruptions remains today. The Encyclopedia of Volcanoes summarizes our present knowledge of volcanoes; it provides a comprehensive source of information on the causes of volcanic eruptions and both the destructive and beneficial effects. The early chapters focus on the science of volcanism (melting of source rocks, ascent of magma, eruption processes, extraterrestrial volcanism, etc.). Later chapters discuss human interface with volcanoes, including the history of volcanology, geothermal energy resources, interaction with the oceans and atmosphere, health aspects of volcanism, mitigation of volcanic disasters, post-eruption ecology, and the impact of eruptions on organismal biodiversity.
Encyclopedia of Disasters by
Provides an accessible introduction to the most important disasters - both natural and human caused - throughout human history
Notable Natural Disasters by
Overview essays on disaster types explain the disaster in scientific terms and discuss the science behind the phenomenon. the overviews are followed by entries on the 100 worst disasters in history. these narrative -style essays offer facts, figures, and interesting stories. Each event entry begins with a general description of location or the popular designation for the disaster, plus the most accurate date for the event. Magnitude on the Richter scale, either official or estimated, is given for earthquakes.
Encyclopedia of Natural Hazards by
Few subjects have caught the attention of the entire world as much as those dealing with natural hazards. The first decade of this new millennium provides a litany of tragic examples of various hazards that turned into disasters affecting millions of individuals around the globe. The human losses (some 225,000 people) associated with the 2004 Indian Ocean earthquake and tsunami, the economic costs (approximately 200 billion USD) of the 2011 Tohoku Japan earthquake, tsunami and reactor event, and the collective social impacts of human tragedies experienced during Hurricane Katrina in 2005 all provide repetitive reminders that we humans are temporary guests occupying a very active and angry planet. Any examples may have been cited here to stress the point that natural events on Earth may, and often do, lead to disasters and catastrophes when humans place themselves into situations of high risk. Few subjects share the true interdisciplinary dependency that characterizes the field of natural hazards. From geology and geophysics to engineering and emergency response to social psychology and economics, the study of natural hazards draws input from an impressive suite of unique and previously independent specializations. Natural hazards provide a common platform to reduce disciplinary boundaries and facilitate a beneficial synergy in the provision of timely and useful information and action on this critical subject matter. As social norms change regarding the concept of acceptable risk and human migration leads to an explosion in the number of megacities, coastal over-crowding and unmanaged habitation in precarious environments such as mountainous slopes, the vulnerability of people and their susceptibility to natural hazards increases dramatically. Coupled with the concerns of changing climates, escalating recovery costs, a growing divergence between more developed and less developed countries, the subject of natural hazards remains on the forefront of issues that affect all people, nations, and environments all the time. This treatise provides a compendium of critical, timely and very detailed information and essential facts regarding the basic attributes of natural hazards and concomitant disasters. The Encyclopedia of Natural Hazards effectively captures and integrates contributions from an international portfolio of almost 300 specialists whose range of expertise addresses over 330 topics pertinent to the field of natural hazards. Disciplinary barriers are overcome in this comprehensive treatment of the subject matter. Clear illustrations and numerous color images enhance the primary aim to communicate and educate. The inclusion of a series of unique "classic case study" events interspersed throughout the volume provides tangible examples linking concepts, issues, outcomes and solutions. These case studies illustrate different but notable recent, historic and prehistoric events that have shaped the world as we now know it. They provide excellent focal points linking the remaining terms in the volume to the primary field of study. This Encyclopedia of Natural Hazards will remain a standard reference of choice for many years.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues by
The set contains 772 alphabetically arranged articles. They cover a wide variety of topics, including endangered animal species, air pollution, national parks, environmental legislation, oil spills, alternative energy sources, and global climate change. In recognition of the fact that people spend an overwhelming proportion of their time in human-made environments, essays also cover such topics as sick building syndrome, noise pollution, smog, and urban planning.
Encyclopaedia of Global Warming by
Global warming is a current and burning topic, today. To comprehend, it is: th E gradual increase in the overall temperature of the earth`s atmosphere, due to increased level of carbon dioxide and other pollutants.` Extreme weather events, rise in the sealevel and a plethora of diseases are some of the serious concerns, which have drawn attention of policy-makers and scientists. It has a number of negative effects on, say, natural systems and creatures, such as butterflies, alpine herbs, life cycle of birds and plantation, etc. Given its harmful impacts, initiatives have been taken, both on national and international levels. Focus is on how to lessen its increasing effect, the world over. Rapidly increasing industrialisation and the smoke, emitted by vehicles are some of the prime reasons, behind global warming. The important initiatives taken, so far, include United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) and the Kyoto Protocol. However, it appears to be an impossible task to put a check on it, effectively - not to say of decreasing its degree. The reason is that the effects, we experience today, are mainly related to emissions that took place long ago. Nevertheless, efforts are on to achieve the goal, day in and day out. Present work is aimed at catering to the needs of the scholars, researchers, policymakers, scientists, academics and of course, general readers, alike. This work, a research based effort should to be a good source for students and general readers concerned.
Renewable and Alternative Energy Resources by
This volume provides an insightful overview of renewable and alternative energy technologies and policies in the United States and around the world. Are renewable and alternative energy solutions needed to combat many of the negative effects of fossil fuel (including global warming)? Can such solutions be "clean," and still economically viable? For readers wanting clear, objective answers to questions like these, this fascinating, highly informative volume is the ideal source. Renewable and Alternative Energy Resources: A Reference Handbook provides an authoritative, unbiased overview of existing and potential renewable and alternative energy technologies, covering the benefits and drawbacks associated with each. It then looks at a number of specific questions and controversies on this issue, examining the social, political, and economic aspects of renewable and alternative energy use in the United States and other countries--detailing different approaches and activities of international organizations, national governments, and private sector initiatives. * A chronology of technological developments, events, and policies related to renewable and alternative energy * A glossary of renewable and alternative energy related concepts including Ocean Thermal Energy Conversion (OTEC), net metering, and stages of technology development
Encyclopedia of Sustainability by
This three-volume encyclopedia explores the concept of sustainability in the contexts of the environment, economics, and justice. * Includes biological sketches of important leaders including Mohammad Yunnus, Wangari Maathai, and Karl Henrik RobËrt * Offers over 50 illustrations and drawings and a variety of helpful maps * Appendices of original documents not easily located otherwise * A guide to related topics opens each volume, allowing quick reference to entries by theme *A "Definitions and Contexts" section unique to each volume provides readers with a crash course in the often complex language of sustainability
The Oxford Handbook of Environmental Ethics by 
Haschek and Rousseaux's Handbook of Toxicologic Pathology by
Haschek and Rousseaux's Handbook of Toxicologic Pathology is a key reference on the integration of structure and functional changes in tissues associated with the response to pharmaceuticals, chemicals and biologics. The 3e has been expanded by a full volume, and covers aspects of safety assessment not discussed in the 2e. Completely revised with many new chapters, it remains the most authoritative reference on toxicologic pathology for scientists and researchers studying and making decisions on drugs, biologics, medical devices and other chemicals, including agrochemicals and environmental contaminants. New topics include safety assessment, the drug life cycle, risk assessment, communication and management, carcinogenicity assessment, pharmacology and pharmacokinetics, biomarkers in toxicologic pathology, quality assurance, peer review, agrochemicals, nanotechnology, food and toxicologic pathology, the environment and toxicologic pathology and more.