Simpson Library: E-Books: Downloading Ebooks to Different Devices

eBook Databases

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
This database contains a large multidisciplinary collection of ebooks as well as a collection focusing on science and technology.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains ebooks on all subjects published from 1915 to the present that can be read as PDF files or downloaded to your desktop or mobile device. In order to download an ebook from EBSCO, you need to log in to your EBSCO account.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
This database contains ebooks on academic works across the disciplines of humanties, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law published from 1990 to the present.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
To login, choose "Not Listed" from the "Select your institution" drop down menu, then enter your UMW email address. Guest users should ask at the Research Desk to be logged in to this resource.
Formerly Safari Tech Books, this collection contains more than 35,000 book titles and over 30,000 hours of video. Additional content includes learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, and audio books.

Downloading Ebooks to your Computer

Once you have downloaded the free Adobe Digital Editions software, follow these steps to download an ebook to your computer:

Once you have found an ebook you wish to download, click on the "Download (Offline)" button
If you are downloading an ebook through EBSCOhost, you will have to login to your EBSCOhost account or create one if you don't have one
Once you are logged in and your ebook has loaded, click on the download button once more
A screen will pop up asking you to select the loan period (you can borrow the ebook for a max of 7 days) and the file format you want the ebook to download as (PDF or EPUB)
You will then be prompted to either Open or Save the file. Opening the file will launch the Adobe Digital Editions program automatically. If you are not ready to begin reading your ebook you can select Save so that you may access it later.

Downloading Ebooks to your Tablet from ProQuest and EBSCO

To download an ebook to your mobile device, once you have identified an ebook of interest, follow these 5 easy steps:

Sign into your personal account with ProQuest or EBSCOhost
Click on the download button
Confirm the loan period (typically 7-21 days)
Select the Adobe Digital Editions app to open the file
Enter your adobe password and ID (first time only)

The Adobe Digital Editions app will manage the loan period. Once the loan has expired you will not be able to open the file.

Additional instructions for downloading Ebooks to a mobile device:

EBSCO Ebook Downloads

ProQuest Ebook Central Downloads

Adobe Digital Editions

In order to download ebooks to your desktop for offline reading, you need to first download the free Adobe Digital Editions software. Click on the link below to download the software. On your first time using Adobe Digital Editions to read an ebook offline, you will be prompted to authorize your computer. You can authorize your computer with or without a Vendor ID. The default Vendor ID type is an Adobe ID, which you will need to have only if you want to read your ebook on multiple devices (other computers, tablets, phones, etc.)

Download Adobe Digital Editions