Today's Hours:
A great way to start your research is by reading overviews and summaries of a potential topic. Reference books, like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks, provide this type of authoritative information in a very condensed format. Reference books will:
Use these materials to give you ideas for a topic. Write down the relevant facts and keywords so that you can search in Primo or the library databases to locate books and articles for your research.
Routledge Handbook of Sports Therapy, Injury Assessment and Rehabilitation by
The Routledge Handbook of Sports Therapy, Injury Assessment and Rehabilitation is a comprehensive and authoritative reference for those studying or working in this field and is the first book to comprehensively cover all of the following areas: Sports Injury Aetiology Soft Tissue Injury Healing Clinical Assessment in Sports Therapy Clinical Interventions in Sports Therapy Spinal and Peripheral Anatomy, Injury Assessment and Management Pitch-side Trauma Care Professionalism and Ethics in Sports Therapy.
Team Physician Manual by
The FIMS Team Physician Manual is the official sports medicine handbook of the International Federation of Sports Medicine (FIMS), the world's oldest sports medicine organization. Now in a fully revised and updated third edition, the book offers a complete guide to the background knowledge, practical techniques and professional skills required to become a successful medical practitioner working in sport. Well illustrated, with clear step-by-step guidance, plus text boxes and checklists for quick reference, the Team Physician Manual covers every key area of activity and intervention, from the preparticipation examination to rehabilitation. The book surveys every classification of sports injury, offering clear advice on fieldside assessment, diagnosis and treatment, as well as examining best practice in general aspects of sports medicine, such as prevention and the psychology of injury.
A Visual Guide to Clinical Anatomy by
A solid knowledge of anatomy is essential within any number of fields throughout healthcare. A core discipline of all medical degrees, anatomy is generally taught in a series of laboratory sessions and lectures, requiring students to identify a particular organ or structure, explain its function and describe its relation to normal physiology. Students are expected to learn - and practicing clinicians required to remember - an enormous amount of anatomical information. A Visual Guide to Clinical Anatomy is an extraordinary visual reference guide, containing more than 900 high-quality illustrations of the human anatomy. Author and illustrator Robert H. Whitaker draws upon his 30 years of experience as an anatomy demonstrator and lecturer at Cambridge University to present a simple, easy-to-understand approach to both teaching and learning the subject. Each illustration is designed to provide a summary of key anatomical and clinical information of a specific topic or clinical condition. A comprehensive yet user-friendly anatomy resource, this volume: Covers the major areas of human anatomy Provides succinct, clinically relevant information for each illustration Offers clear and accessible synopses of anatomical structures A Visual Guide to Clinical Anatomy is a valuable addition to the bookshelf of any medical student, instructor, surgical trainee, physician, or healthcare practitioner.
Textbook of Nutrition in Health and Disease by
This textbook offers a concise, yet comprehensive account of human nutrition, food and nutrition-related health problems, based on the curricula of top universities around the globe. Nutrition is a multidisciplinary science, and as such, the book discusses various aspects of physiology, biochemistry, pathology, immunology, medicine, food science, and other fields related to nutrition, it focuses on the role of nutrition in the maintenance of health. The various chapters explore highly relevant issues, such as, addiction-related health problems, lifestyle-related disorders, social health problems and poor-maintenance of food hygiene and food safety. It also addresses the role of nutritional therapies for mental disorders, and includes an integrated perspective on cognition, oxidative stress and nutritional interventions in aging. Other topics include, the role of gut microbiota on human health, nutraceuticals as therapeutic agents and ketogenic diets. It also highlights malnutrition (protein energy malnutrition, starvation, malabsorption syndrome, eating disorders and overnutrition/obesity) and adipose tissue as an active endocrine organ. Moreover, it examines key concepts concerning the role of vitamins in the citric acid cycle (gluconeogenesis, ketogenesis, oxidative deamination and transamination) and precursors of coenzymes, as well as calorigenic hormones, appetite-stimulating/appetite-inhibiting hormones, anabolic and catabolic hormones affecting protein metabolism, and lipogenetic/lipolytic hormones.
Functional Anatomy for Sport and Exercise by
Functional Anatomy for Sport and Exercise: A Quick A-to-Z Reference is the most user-friendly and accessible available reference to human musculoskeletal anatomy in its moving, active context. Fully updated and revised, the second edition features more illustrations to enhance student learning and an expanded hot topics section to highlight key areas of research in sport and exercise. An accessible format makes it easy for students to locate clear, concise explanations and descriptions of anatomical structures, human movement terms and key concepts. Covering all major anatomical areas, the book includes: an A-to-Z guide to anatomical terms and concepts, from the head to the foot clear and detailed colour illustrations cross-referenced entries throughout hot topics discussed in more detail in sports examples discussed in more detail full references and suggested further reading This book is an essential quick reference for undergraduate students in applied anatomy, functional anatomy, kinesiology, sport and exercise science, physical education, strength and conditioning, biomechanics and athletic training. I> in sports examples discussed in more detail full references and suggested further reading This book is an essential quick reference for undergraduate students in applied anatomy, functional anatomy, kinesiology, sport and exercise science, physical education, strength and conditioning, biomechanics and athletic training.
Encyclopedia of Sports and Athletics by
This book presents and discusses current research in the study of sports and athletics. Topics discussed include the anti-inflammatory effects of exercise; the role of physical exercise in Parkinson's disease; the health benefits of aerobic activity and physical fitness in young people; physiological evaluation of athletic performance in cyclic sports; social and environmental influences on athlete motivation in sports; self-talk in sports; mental toughness; the role of physical activity in the treatment and prevention of anxiety and depression in children and being superstitious in sports. (Imprint: Nova Biomedical Press)
Nutrition in Lifestyle Medicine by
This newest addition to the Nutrition and Health series focuses on nutrition's key role in lifestyle interventions to prevent and manage diseases. The book pays particular attention to nutritional considerations related to obesity, diabetes, and cardiovascular disease. Edited by cardiologist, Dr. James Rippe, a well-known expert in the nascent specialty of Lifestyle Medicine, Nutrition in Lifestyle Medicine will also focus on a variety of specialized areas such as nutrition for athletes and physically active individuals, hydration, and nutrition throughout the life cycle (spanning from children to individuals over the age of 60). In addition, chapters will be included on controversies in nutrition, such as health effects of added sugars and saturated fatty acids in the diet. Finally, specialized chapters will be included in such areas as nutrition for women, nutrition for men, nutrition for latinos, the use of supplements, communication about nutrition, public policy issues, and the interface between nutrition and physical activity. Lifestyle Medicine, supported by the American Journal of Lifestyle Medicine, Dr. Rippe's textbook Lifestyle Medicine (CRC Press, 2013) and American College of Lifestyle Medicine (ACLM), is a new national medicine specialty that stresses the use of lifestyle interventions in the treatment and management of disease. Its practitioners effectively manage medical treatments alongside the lifestyle interventions, for example lowering insulin treatment for patients with diabetes, reducing the dose of anti-hypertension medications for people with hypertension, and prescribing certain medical interventions that aid in smoking cessation.