Simpson Library: Historic Preservation: Internet Sources

Internet Sources

This page lists websites that may be useful for Historic Preservation topics. Some of these websites contain sources you can cite, and some are just starting points (overviews) that give you clues to follow.

Architecture

Classic Commonwealth: Virginia Architecture from the Colonial Era to 1940
Published by the Virginia Department of Historic Resources, this guide "is designed to aid professionals, students, and the interested public in identifying and documenting the numerous types and styles of historic buildings in the Commonwealth."
New Dominion Virginia: Architectural Style Guide
An index of architectural styles in Virginia that "relies heavily on photographs which exemplify or illustrate relevant styles."

How to Preserve

Preservation Briefs
Instructions for preserving historic buildings. Provided by the Technical Preservation Services agency of the National Park Service.
Preservation Tech Notes
Case studies in historic preservation. Provided by the Technical Preservation Services agency of the National Park Service.

Free Online Databases

These databases are free online. See also the databases that UMW subscribes to.

Archival Resources - UMW Department of Historic Preservation
Developed by the Historic Preservation Department at the University of Mary Washington. Enables users to search such area resources as 19th-century Fredericksburg directories, historic district codes, 18th- and 19th-century newspaper indexes, and local Mutual Assurance Policies and Censuses of Manufacturing Lists.
Bibliography of the History of Art
(1975-2007)
A database of articles from art history journals, provided by the Getty Research Institute.
The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR)
Digital records of archaeological investigations, including excavation reports, images, datasets, and more. Not all items are available in full text.
ICOMOS Open Archive
An archive of scholarly materials on the subject of heritage conservation, from the International Council on Monuments and Sites.
National Register of Historic Places: Database and Research
Search the National Register of Historic Places. See also the interactive map.

Online Periodicals

CRM: The Journal of Heritage Stewardship
(2003-2011)
A publication of the National Park Service that showcases articles on cultural resource management. It replaced CRM (1991-2002), which replaced CRM Bulletin (1978-1990).
e-PRESERVATIONScience
An electronic journal dedicated to "scientific research for the preservation of cultural heritage," which was published from 2004 to 2018.
Preservation (magazine)
The magazine of the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

Organizations

American Battlefield Trust
A non-profit organization dedicated to preservation issues of Civil War battlefields. The News page covers current issues related to battlefield preservation.
The American Institute for Conservation
An organization of "conservation professionals dedicated to preserving the art and historic artifacts of our cultural heritage for future generations."
The Association for Gravestone Studies
The Preservation page on this site includes a bibliography of works dedicated to the preservation of gravestones.
The Association for Preservation Technology International
A "cross-disciplinary, membership organization dedicated to promoting the best technology for conserving historic structures and their settings."
Ephemera Society of America
The site defines "ephemera" as "vintage printed or written items which originally served some specific purpose and were not expected to be retained or preserved."
The Getty Conservation Institute
The Getty Conservation Institute "serves the conservation community through scientific research, education, and training, model field projects, and the dissemination of information."
National Archeological Database
This "computerized communications network for the archeological and historic preservation community was established to improve access to information on archeological activities nationwide."
National Park Service
Provides information on the National Park system and much related material on natural resources, legislation, and publications.
National Park Service - Discover History
This site connects users to sites on museum collections, national historic landmarks, maritime history, the Civil War, archaeology, battlefield preservation, tours, American Indians, and grants assistance.
National Park Service - Heritage Documentation Programs
"Heritage Documentation Programs administers the Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS), the Federal Government's oldest preservation program, and its companion programs: the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) and Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS)."
National Park Service - National Center for Preservation Technology and Training
The National Center for Preservation Technology and Training "advances the application of science and technology to historic preservation." Databases and indexes that can be accessed include:
National Register of Historic Places
The National Register of Historic Places "is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation."
National Trust for Historic Preservation
A guide to the National Trust and its services. This private non-profit organization is "dedicated to saving historic places and revitalizing America's communities."
Winterthur
Website of the "premier museum of decorative arts." Click "Collections" to view and search the museum's collections.

Career Resources

PreservationDirectory.com
Job postings, conferences, funding sources, and more.
PreserveNet
Contains "a comprehensive database of regularly updated internet resources, a list of degree programs in historic preservation, and a jobs board."

Subject Guide

Peter Catlin

he/him

Email Me

Subjects: Art and Art History, Historic Preservation, History and American Studies, Music

Google Tricks

Tips and tricks for Google searches

Use quotation marks for exact words or phrases.

For example, “global warming” (to search global warming as a phrase rather than two separate words).

Use OR to search for one word or the other. Google will find pages that match either of the two words.

Example: attorneys OR lawyers

Use site: to search within a site or domain (no space after colon).

Example: “global warming” site:nytimes.com
Example: climatology site:.gov

Use a minus sign (a hyphen) to exclude a word or phrase from a search.

Example: jaguar speed -car;
Example: “global warming” -site:wikipedia.org

Use allintitle: to show results with word(s) in the title (no space after colon).

Example: allintitle:“global warming”
You can also use allinurl to find pages that have your search terms in their URLs.

Use related: to search for sites similar to ones you know (no space after colon).

Example: related:nbc.com

Use link: to find sites linked to a particular web page (no space after colon).

Example: link:freelancestar.com
Example: link:pbs.org

Use filetype: to restrict results to certain file type (no space after colon).

Example: climatology filetype:pdf

Use two periods without spaces to search for a number range, such as dates, prices, and measurements.

Example: “test scores” 2013..2014
Example: microwaves $100..$300

You can also use a Google Advanced Search to construct your search.