The Role of Animals in Emerging Viral Diseases presents what is currently known about the role of animals in the emergence or re-emergence of viruses including HIV-AIDS, SARS, Ebola, avian flu, swine flu, and rabies. It presents the structure, genome, and methods of transmission that influence emergence and considers non-viral factors that favor emergence, such as animal domestication, human demography, population growth, human behavior, and land-use changes. When viruses jump species, the result can be catastrophic, causing disease and death in humans and animals. These zoonotic outbreaks reflect several factors, including increased mobility of human populations, changes in demography and environmental changes due to globalization. The threat of new, emerging viruses and the fact that there are no vaccines for the most common zoonotic viruses drive research in the biology and ecology of zoonotic transmission. In this book, specialists in 11 emerging zoonotic viruses present detailed information on each virus's structure, molecular biology, current geographic distribution, and method of transmission. The book discusses the impact of virus emergence by considering the ratio of mortality, morbidity, and asymptomatic infection and assesses methods for predicting, monitoring, mitigating, and controlling viral disease emergence.

This first volume of a two-volume set describes general aspects, such as the historical view on the topic, the role of information distribution and preparedness of health-care systems and preparedness in emergency cases. Part two describes and discusseses in detail the pathogens and toxins that are potentially used for biological attacks. As such, the book is a valuable resource for faculties engaged in molecular biology, genetic engineering, neurology, biodefense, biosafety & biosecurity, virology, and infectious disease programs, as well as professional medical research organizations.

More than 30 newly emerged microorganisms and related diseases have been discovered in the past 20 years. Since these infections are so new, even infectious diseases experts and clinical microbiologists need more information. This book covers recently emerged infectious diseases based on real cases and provides comprehensive information including different aspects of the infections. Written in a 'teaching' style, this book is of interest to every medical specialist and student.

The book gives a comprehensive overview on the knowledge of virus infection relevant for humans and animals. For each virus family the molecular details of the virus particle and the viral replication cycle are described. In the case of virus types with relevance for human and/or animal health the data on molecular biology, genetics and virus-cell interaction are combined with those concerning, pathogenesis, epidemiology, clinics, prevention and therapy.

Biosecurity and Bioterrorism, Second Edition, takes a holistic approach to biosecurity, with coverage of pathogens, prevention, and response methodology. It addresses these hazards in the context of vulnerability assessments and the planning strategies government and industry can use to prepare for and respond to such events. The book is organized into four thematic sections: Part I provides a conceptual understanding of biowarfare, bioterrorism and the laws we have to counteract this; Part II investigates known bioagents and the threat from emerging diseases; Part III focuses on agricultural terrorism and food security; and Part IV outlines international, US, and local initiatives for biodefense and biosecurity. Case studies illustrate biodefense against both intentional terrorism and natural outbreaks.

This book is designed to provide easy-to-read and basic information about vaccines for those undertaking a vaccine course or for medical providers seeking to improve their skills. Written by expert medical educators in the areas of infectious diseases, medical microbiology, and pediatrics, this book begins by establishing the fundamentals of vaccines such as what constitutes a vaccine, how they are manufactured and composed, how they are tested for safety and efficacy, and how vaccine recommendations are developed and conveyed to health care providers and their patients. The book then explains the composition, safety profile, effectiveness, and current recommendations for use of every available vaccine, alphabetized by infection. The concluding section illuminates practical concerns every vaccinating clinician experiences, including vaccine confidence and hesitancy, misconceptions, and patient communication.

Textbook of Zoonoses Comprehensive resource covering the aetiology, epidemiology and transmission cycle, clinical symptoms, diagnosis, and prevention and control strategies of the important zoonoses. Zoonoses are the diseases which can spread from animals to humans. This book covers all important zoonoses that are prevalent in today's world. As a modern learning resource, it incorporates recent scientific developments and concepts to give readers a complete overview of each zoonoses. Written by three well-qualified authors in academia, sample topics covered within the book include: Bacterial, viral, parasitic, rickettsial, fungal, prion, and foodborne zoonoses Aetiology and epidemiology of each zoonotic disease Clinical symptoms and diagnosis in animals and humans Treatment options, plus prevention and control strategies CDC classification of zoonotic agents and the WHO's list of 'neglected zoonoses' Written for undergraduate and postgraduate students studying veterinary public health and epidemiology, Textbook of Zoonoses is also a helpful resource for other veterinary and medical professionals interested in public health and epidemiology.

The Prokaryotes is a comprehensive, multi-authored, peer reviewed reference work on Bacteria and Archaea. This fourth edition of The Prokaryotes is organized to cover all taxonomic diversity, using the family level to delineate chapters. Different from other resources, this new Springer product includes not only taxonomy, but also prokaryotic biology and technology of taxa in a broad context. Technological aspects highlight the usefulness of prokaryotes in processes and products, including biocontrol agents and as genetics tools. The content of the expanded fourth edition is divided into two parts: Part 1 contains review chapters dealing with the most important general concepts in molecular, applied and general prokaryote biology; Part 2 describes the known properties of specific taxonomic groups. Two completely new sections have been added to Part 1: bacterial communities and human bacteriology. The bacterial communities section reflects the growing realization that studies on pure cultures of bacteria have led to an incomplete picture of the microbial world for two fundamental reasons: the vast majority of bacteria in soil, water and associated with biological tissues are currently not culturable, and that an understanding of microbial ecology requires knowledge on how different bacterial species interact with each other in their natural environment. The new section on human microbiology deals with bacteria associated with healthy humans and bacterial pathogenesis. Each of the major human diseases caused by bacteria is reviewed, from identifying the pathogens by classical clinical and non-culturing techniques to the biochemical mechanisms of the disease process. The 4th edition of The Prokaryotes is the most complete resource on the biology of prokaryotes.

Stem cell based therapy is a 21st century approach of therapeutic intervention which epitomizes a shift from conventional symptomatic treatment strategy to addressing the root cause of the disease process. This is especially a hope for the patients suffering from diseases such as Alzheimer, diabetes, myocardial infarction and other diseases which have always been considered as incurable. Moreover, stem cells provide excellent in vitro disease models for drug development. This book is a compilation of the bench experience of experts from various research labs involved in the cutting edge area of research, describing the use of stem cells both as part of the combinatorial therapeutic intervention approach and as tools (disease model) during drug development.

Biologically Active Small Molecules: Modern Applications and Therapeutic Perspectives focuses on small molecules as active pharmacological agents, their pharmacotherapeutically active properties, new approaches in drug discovery using small molecules, and biopharmaceutic approaches for low molecular weight ligands. Molecules of low mass play a pivotal role in pharmacology because they exhibit multifarious pharmacological effects. Small molecules have become universally popular due to their simple chemistry, easy separation techniques, versatile acceptance for computational studies, large number of places for the substitution of active chemical moieties by well-established synthetic routes with less effort, better quality attributes, and ability to demonstrate numerous biological activities. This book provides a multidisciplinary approach that delivers the most updated knowledge and advances of some newly developed therapeutically active low molecular weight compounds. It includes chapters that present up-to-date and concise content on the classification, structures, chemical syntheses, medicinal chemistry, pharmacology, biochemical pathways, mechanism of actions, side effects, and adverse effects of small molecule drug discovery. The book covers a broad area by highlighting the advances of inter- and multidisciplinary fields of medicine, chemical sciences, and pharmaceuticals. The flowcharts, figures, illustrations, and diagrams provide important information and will be of great interest for readers.

The CRISPR-Cas9 genome-editing system is creating a revolution in the science world. In the laboratory, CRISPR-Cas9 can efficiently be used to target specific genes, correct mutations and regulate gene expression of a wide array of cells and organisms, including human cells. CRISPR-/Cas9 Based Genome Editing for Treating Genetic Disorders and Diseases is a unique reading material for college students, academicians, and other health professionals interested in learning about the broad range of applications of CRISPR/Cas9 genetic scissors. Some topics included in this book are: the role of the CRISPR/Cas9 system in neuroscience, gene therapy, epigenome editing, genome mapping, cancer, virus infection control strategies, regulatory challenges and bioethical considerations.

Diagnostics and Gene therapy for Human Genetic disorders provides an integrative and comprehensive information blending the classical human genetics with the human genome. It provides a multidisciplinary overview of Mendelian inheritance and multifactorial inheritance, genetic variations, polymorphisms, chromosomal, multifactorial, and mitochondrial disorders. PCR, Electrophoresis, cytogenetics, prenatal and HPLC based techniques applied for diagnosing the genetic disorders were discussed with applications. Symptoms, etiology, diagnosis, treatment of 14 major and 5 minor genetic disorders were completely discussed. Methods employed for the preparation of kits for the diagnosis of the diseases were provided. Role of gene therapy on the amelioration of genetic disorders and the methodology employed has been discussed. The success of gene therapy in controlling various disorders such as immune system, neurodegenerative, cardiovascular, eye diseases and cancer has been provided along with type studies.

This book gives a comprehensive overview to all aspects of global molecular vaccine research. It introduces concepts of vaccine immunology and molecular vaccine development for viral, bacterial, parasitic and fungal infections. Furthermore, the broad field of research and development in molecular cancer vaccines is discussed in detail. This book is a must have for scientists and clinicians interested in new developments in molecular vaccine research and application in infections and cancer.

This book is the most comprehensive and complete treatise on nucleic acid therapeutic products, including mRNA vaccines, their manufacturing, formulations, and testing for safety and efficacy testing. Details include cGMP-compliant manufacturing and regulatory filing steps. A new concept of "biosimilar" mRNA vaccine is presented to secure fast approval of copies of mRNA vaccines. Projections of financial plans to establish RNA manufacturing facilities are provided, along with details of supply chain management. Finally, the future of nucleic acid products in gene therapy and other newer applications is presented, along with a perspective that all new vaccines will be the nucleic acid type that will further provide first-time prevention of autoimmune disorders. It is projected that both big pharma and startups will enter this field, and we can expect significant additions to our drug armamentarium soon.