Data.gov
Links to statistics from over 100 U.S. government agencies. Browse alphabetically, by subject, or by state.
 

U.S. Census Bureau
Interactive website that allows you to easily search for data and statistics

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Guide to Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web
Links to principal U.S. federal statistical agencies, international statistical organizations, and the national statistical agencies of many other countries.

Bureau of Economic Analysis - U.S. Department of Commerce
The BEA's economists produce some of the world's most closely watched statistics, including U.S. gross domestic product, better known as GDP. They do state and local numbers, too, plus foreign trade and investment stats and industry data.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Labor statistics, including data on employment, prices, and inflation.

Consumer Price Index (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
The Consumer Price Index (CPI) is a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and services. Indexes are available for the U.S. and various geographic areas. Average price data for select utility, automotive fuel, and food items are also available.
 

Census Bureau - Business and Economy
The Census Bureau produces economic data across the entire economy on a monthly, quarterly, yearly, and five-year basis.
 

Labor Market Data (VA)
Virginia Workforce Connection website: data related to employment, occupations, and industries in the state of Virginia.
 

Mergent Online
Financial statements for U.S. publicly traded companies, as well as some international and privately held corporations; data available for last 15 years. Search and create custom reports for financial factors and other variables, such as stock prices and primary competitors.
 

SEC Filings (EDGAR)
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission's searchable company filings.
Use EDGAR (the SEC's the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system) to locate the financial statements, 10-K forms, annual reports, letters to shareholders, and other SEC filings that public companies are required to submit to the SEC

U.S. Small Business Association (SBA) - Research and Statistics
Economic reports, facts about small businesses, state profiles, and more.

American Community Survey
Annual survey by the U.S. Census Bureau to assist with U.S. budget allocations.
The ACS is is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about our nation.
 

National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
Download U.S. Census Data Tables & Mapping Files
Provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks.

Social Explorer
An interactive data tool that enables the creation of customizable maps, charts, and reports using data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.

Annual Survey of School System Finances
Education finance data include revenues, expenditures, debt, and assets [cash and security holdings] of elementary and secondary public school systems.
 

Common Core of Data
A program of the U.S. Department of Education's National Center for Education Statistics that annually collects fiscal and non-fiscal data about all public schools, public school districts and state education agencies in the United States.
 

Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health
The DRC is a national center assisting in the design, development, documentation and public dissemination of user friendly information about, data findings on and datasets and codebooks for the National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH).
 

Harvard Graduate School of Education - Education Statistics
Guide to education statistics from Harvard's Gutman Library
 

Implementation of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)
U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP) annual report to Congress
 

Kids Count Data Center
A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a premier source of data on children and families. Each year, the Foundation produces a comprehensive report — the KIDS COUNT Data Book — that assesses child well-being in the United States.
 

National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)

Nation's Report Card
Largest continuing and nationally representative assessment of what our nation’s students know and can do in subjects such as mathematics, reading, science, and writing.
 

NCES (National Center for Education Statistics)
The NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.

NCES Fast Facts

NCES: NAEP State Assessments
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) reports results at the state level, most often in grades 4 and 8, in four subjects—mathematics, reading, science, and writing. Because NCES administers the same assessment in every state, NAEP provides a common measure for student achievement in public schools across the country.

Program for International Student Assessment (PISA)
Conducted in the United States by NCES, the Program for International Student Assessment (PISA) is an international assessment that measures 15-year-old students' reading, mathematics, and science literacy every three years.

Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study (TIMSS)
Conducted in the United States by NCES, this study provides reliable and timely data on the mathematics and science achievement of U.S. students compared to that of students in other countries.

What Works Clearinghouse
Reviews the existing research on different programs, products, practices, and policies in education.
 

NEA: Rankings of the States and Estimates of School Statistics
Rankings & Estimates is an annual report that the National Education Association’s Research Department has produced for 70 years.
 

NIEER: State of Preschool Yearbook
The State Preschool Yearbook is an annual publication which has tracked the funding, access, and policies of state-funded preschool programs.

State of the World's Children
Each year, UNICEF’s flagship publication, The State of the World's Children, closely examines a key issue affecting children. The report includes supporting data and statistics.

UNESCO Institute for Statistics - Global Education Digest
Compare education statistics across the world

Virginia Department of Education - Statistics and Reports
VDOE reports a variety of data on public education in the commonwealth, including information on enrollment, demographics, student achievement, finances and safety.

CDC Data & Statistics

FastStats A to Z (from CDC's NCHS)
Statistics related to public health; from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's (CDC) National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). 

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Includes population surveys, vital statistics, provider surveys, and more.
 

Fertility Data (ACS Population Survey)
Data gathered through American Community Survey, U.S. Census Bureau
 

Food Environment Atlas (USDA)
Interactive map showing food availability and costs, fast food expenditures, physical activity levels, and other factors that contribute to or detract from community health.

Historical Statistics of the United States
HSUS is the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. It contains time series tables that cover the economic, social, political, demographic, and institutional history of the U.S. The introductory essays provide guidance on sources and their reliability and interpretation.

Data on State Legislatures
From the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)
Includes maps and tables covering state partisan composition, legislative careers, and legislator compensation, as well as state legislative session calendars and the Legislatures at a Glance tool.
 

Statistical Data on U.S. Courts
Provides statistical data and analysis on the business of the federal Judiciary. Specific publications address the work of the appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts; the probation and pretrial services systems; and other components of the U.S. courts.