Today's Hours:
Encyclopedia of Geology by
This unrivalled, five-volume reference work covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology. The techniques of remote sensing and other tools of investigation that have advanced rapidly over the last few decades are described in detail. Encyclopedia of Geology is divided into 340 articles, each covering one aspect of geology. The concepts and theory are explained at a level that allows undergraduates and educated lay people to understand them. The reference has been planned and structured to provide the user with a comprehensive coverage of the core knowledge in each area. It will become the reference of choice for today's geologists and beyond. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.
Encyclopedia of Sediments and Sedimentary Rocks by
This comprehensive, one-volume encyclopedia covers the sedimentological aspects of sediments and sedimentary rocks. It features more than 250 entries by some 180 eminent contributors from all over the world, excellent indices, cross references, and extensive bibliographies.
The Practical Encyclopedia of Rocks and Minerals by
John Farndon presents this visual guide to the origins, evolution and identification of rocks and minerals, with in-depth profiles of over 300 specimens.
The Water Encyclopedia by
"Just do an Internet search." "It's on the Internet" These phrases have quickly become a part of the vernacular. The quintessential book of data relating to water, The Water Encyclopedia: Hydrologic Data and Internet Resources, Third Edition arose from the premise that most of the information provided within this publication could be easily found on the Internet. As the editors and their team of contributors soon discovered, using the Internet for research can be problematic. Too much, too little, and questionable data sets can influence the caliber of your results. The new edition contains more than 1100 tables and 500 figures providing data related to weather, surface water, ground water, water use, water quality, waste water, pollution, and water resource management. The first two chapters are completely new and discuss data management and international data collection. The pollution chapter has grown to contain some 450 plus tables and figures. Wastewater, previously included within the pollution chapter, is presented as a new standalone chapter. Whether you are looking for a specific piece of information or exploring many topics, this edition is a portal to quality facts and data sets. Retaining the elements that made the previous editions bestsellers, the third edition elucidates the many changes within the environmental industry and in water-related issues during the last decade. Prepared by scientists and engineers, the book has been significantly expanded beyond the scope of the second edition. Reflecting changes not only in information but also technology, whenever possible, the text includes an Internet address that guides you to the appropriate source.
Dictionary of Gems and Gemology by
The rapid growth of gemological sciences & mineralogy requires a comprehensive dictionary for gemologists, mineralogists, geologists, jewel dealers, industry & hobbyists. This dictionary contains about 16000 entries. The comprehensive definitions are completed by more than 250 diagrams & figures. The author offers a one-stop reference to any matter dealing with gems & gemology.
The History and Use of Our Earth's Chemical Elements by
Understanding the Periodic Table of Chemical Elements is critical for success in the chemistry classroom and laboratory. In today's classroom, students not only need to understand the properties of the chemical elements, but how these elements play such an integral role in industry, the earth and the environment, and in modern life. No resource provides a better introduction than Robert Krebs's The History and Use of Our Earth's Chemical Elements. In this thoroughly revised edition, with extensive new examples on the importance of the chemical elements, the elements are examined within their groups, enabling students to make connections between elements of similar structure. In addition, the discovery and history of each element - from those known from ancient times to those created in the modern laboratory - is explained clearly and concisely. Understanding the Periodic Table of Chemical Elements is critical for success in the chemistry classroom and laboratory. In today's classroom, students not only need to understand the properties of the chemical elements, but how these elements play such an integral role in industry, the earth and the environment, and in modern life. No resource provides a better introduction than Robert Krebs's The History and Use of Our Earth's Chemical Elements. In this thoroughly revised edition, with extensive new and updated examples on the use of the chemical elements, the elements are examined within their groups, enabling students to make connections between elements of similar structure. In addition, the discovery and history of each element - from those known from ancient times to those created in the modern laboratory - is explained clearly and concisely. In addition to the handy Guide to the Chemical Elements that comprises the bulk of the work, The History and Use of Our Earth's Chemical Elements includes other useful features: ; Introductory material on the basics of chemistry and the Periodic Table ; Appendices on the discoverers of the chemical elements ; A glossary of words commonly used in chemistry and chemical engineering ; A complete bibliography of useful resources, including websites All of this information makes The History and Use of Our Earth's Chemical Elements the ideal one-volume resource for understanding the importance of the chemical elements.
A great way to start your research is by reading overviews and summaries of a potential topic. Reference books, like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks, provide this type of authoritative information in a very condensed format. Reference books will:
Use these materials to give you ideas for a topic, write down relevant facts and keywords, and then search Primo or the library databases to locate additional books and articles.
Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes by
The changes in this timely new edition are many. This third edition now includes not only new events but also as many examples of historical earthquakes as possible for contrast or comparison. Its significantly expanded coverage in the Middle East reflects the world's focus in recent years. And because many of these disasters involve destruction by landslides and avalanches, there are now 200 new entries related to such events and processes, including tsunami research and technology. Many tables were added to place the magnitude of these recent disasters into historical context. In addition to a special essay on plate tectonics, the book's entries cover information on key environmental issues, economic dilemmas, ethical concerns, advances in research and technology, organizations, and individuals who have left their mark on the fields of volcanology and seismology.
The Encyclopedia of Volcanoes by
Volcanoes are unquestionably one of the most spectacular and awe-inspiring features of the physical world. Our paradoxical fascination with them stems from their majestic beauty and powerful, sometimes deadly, destructiveness. Notwithstanding the tremendous advances in volcanology since ancient times, some of the mystery surrounding volcanic eruptions remains today. The Encyclopedia of Volcanoes summarizes our present knowledge of volcanoes; it provides a comprehensive source of information on the causes of volcanic eruptions and both the destructive and beneficial effects. The early chapters focus on the science of volcanism (melting of source rocks, ascent of magma, eruption processes, extraterrestrial volcanism, etc.). Later chapters discuss human interface with volcanoes, including the history of volcanology, geothermal energy resources, interaction with the oceans and atmosphere, health aspects of volcanism, mitigation of volcanic disasters, post-eruption ecology, and the impact of eruptions on organismal biodiversity.
Ring of Fire by
The author examines natural disasters around the Pacific Rim throughout history together with scientific data context to produce enlightening--and highly readable--entries. On March 11, 2011, a magnitude 9.0 earthquake struck off Japan's coast, triggering a powerful tsunami. The massive destruction that resulted proved that not even sophisticated, industrialized nations are immune from nature's fury. Written to take some of the mystery out of the earth's behavior, this encyclopedia chronicles major natural disasters that have occurred around the Pacific Rim, an area nicknamed the "Ring of Fire" because of the volatile earth that lies above and below. The encyclopedia offers descriptions of deadly earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, and tsunamis through time. The entries provide in-depth information that promotes an understanding of the structure of the earth and earth processes and shares the insights of scientists whose work helps clarify the causes and effects of these cataclysmic events. At the same time, the work examines how the people and cultures of the Pacific Rim view this active part of the earth, how they live with the threat of disaster, and how they have been affected by major events that have occurred. Readers will come away with a holistic view of what is known, how this knowledge was gained, and what its implications may be. Features approximately 100 alphabetically arranged entries with insights into specific disasters, technology, key geographic features of the area, significant people, cultural beliefs, and more Includes a general introduction and overview of the geography and tectonic activity in the Pacific Rim countries Offers both historical and scientific information Explains complex natural phenomena and scientific concepts using nontechnical language and clear illustrations Provides relevant cross-references to related topics as well as to articles, books, and websites that offer further information
Encyclopedia of Disasters by
Provides an accessible introduction to the most important disasters - both natural and human caused - throughout human history
Notable Natural Disasters by
Overview essays on disaster types explain the disaster in scientific terms and discuss the science behind the phenomenon. the overviews are followed by entries on the 100 worst disasters in history. these narrative -style essays offer facts, figures, and interesting stories. Each event entry begins with a general description of location or the popular designation for the disaster, plus the most accurate date for the event. Magnitude on the Richter scale, either official or estimated, is given for earthquakes.