Simpson Library: Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: Find Articles

GenderWatch (ProQuest)
Journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, NGO reports, government documents. 1970-present.

Women's Studies International (EBSCO)
Women's studies, including sociology, politics.

Gale Archives of Sexuality & Gender
The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others.

Depending on your topic, you might also want to search in a database covering just one discipline. For example, if you are examining women's voting patterns or the representation of LGBTQ+ individuals in national legislative bodies, you may want to search in political science. If you're interested in the impact of conditional cash transfers on the educational achievement of women and girls, you may want to search in economics. For research on household division of labor and gender dynamics, you may wish to look at psychology or sociology.

Research topics in Women's, Gender, and Sexuality studies can be interdisciplinary, and sometimes it's hard to know where to start. In cases like these, you might want to start with the main Library search, Primo.

APA PsycNET (EBSCO)
Includes PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, and PsycTESTS
Industrial and organizational psychology, consumer psychology, human factors engineering and environmental psychology.

EconLit with Full Text (EBSCO)
Scholarly economics and finance journals

Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities. Includes articles discussing gender and sexuality in relation to history, language, literature, religion, the arts, and more.

Humanities International Complete (EBSCO)
Includes articles discussing gender and sexuality in relation to history, language, literature, religion, the arts, and more.

Political Science Complete (EBSCO)
Provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals).

Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)
Includes scholarly journals covering subjects in the socials sciences, including anthropology.

SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)
Contains full text for more than 860 sociology journals dating back to 1908.

Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses.

Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.

Finding Journals

Find an article and wonder if Simpson Library has access to the journal?

Example:

Ready, D. D. (2010). Socioeconomic disadvantage, school attendance, and early cognitive development: The differential effects of school exposure. Sociology of Education, 83(4), 271-286.

Sociology of Education is the title of the journal in which this article was published. This article is published in Volume 83, Issue 4, from 2010.

You need to use the library's Journal Search and type in the title of the journal (Sociology of Education), not the title of the article.

Once you find the journal, you will need to see if which database includes the volume / year of the article you want to find.